• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Bit of a dilemma but a nice dilemma

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bit of a dilemma but a nice dilemma

Hi

I have been contracting for almost 18 years and went from contract to perm just before the pandemic hit at my existing company. Mainly due to security to be honest and they needed me but couldnt afford to keep me due to the financial situation caused by COVID.

Almost 2 yrs later, I have been offered a route out back to contract although it is inside IR35 and they are willing to wait for me until a shortened notice period has elapsed.

I think the stifling effect being perm has had on me has got to me where you become a cog in the mill and have less impact now that you are no longer an expensive resource.

Has anyone else had a similar experience where being perm actually is very detrimental to your your skill set and mind ? I feel all the energy I had when I was consulting has been sapped out of me.

Just an interesting topic.

Originally posted by mojomo View Post
    Hi

I have been contracting for almost 18 years and went from contract to perm just before the pandemic hit at my existing company. Mainly due to security to be honest and they needed me but couldnt afford to keep me due to the financial situation caused by COVID.

Almost 2 yrs later, I have been offered a route out back to contract although it is inside IR35 and they are willing to wait for me until a shortened notice period has elapsed.