• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Recommended Books for a new Contractor

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Recommended Books for a new Contractor

Hi all,

I'm just getting into being a contractor. I have an accountant and using their software to record everything. I feel bad for hassling my accountant all the time. Part of the difficulty is that I am not too good on the phone at retaining information and emails can take a while to be turned round with the relevant information.

Could you recommend reading materials that could help me get up to speed on how best to run the comapny? I've only just managed to sort out my SIPP being marked as an expense for my Ltd, rather than an asset!

I know with equipment that I purchase, they do not come out of the profit of the company, and that the cost of them can be spread across a number of years by depreciating the assets. But a lot of online videos/discussion seem to speak of this in a very high level abstracted way without some specific examples.

Any recommendations to get me up to speed would be great.

Thanks

CUK Cook Book
    Google

/thread
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Try the First Timers Guides...

First Timers Guides - for IT Contractors | Contractor UK
      "I can put any old tat in my sig, put quotes around it and attribute to someone of whom I've heard, to make it sound true."
      - Voltaire/Benjamin Franklin/Anne Frank...

Comment

Originally posted by northernladuk View Post
        CUK Cook Book