• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

is this breach of contract

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
X
Collapse
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

is this breach of contract

hi, long time lurker first time poster. i have been contracting at a large bank for 5 months

last night it was the christmas night out. i was not able to make it in this morning. i was already pretty drunk by the time my manager left about 10pm and said there wasn,t much chance of me getting in today. he just laughed so i assumed it would be okay.

anyway next thing i am getting a call from HR

they are saying that i will not be getting paid for today and want a meeting on monday 9am to 'discuss the situation'

it is a 12 month contract so if they try to terminate can i say this is breach of contract?

also can they say they won't pay me for today? as far as i am concerned this was agreed in advance with my line manager?

Originally posted by saurabh1 View Post
    hi, long time lurker first time poster. i have been contracting at a large bank for 5 months

last night it was the christmas night out. i was not able to make it in this morning. i was already pretty drunk by the time my manager left about 10pm and said there wasn,t much chance of me getting in today. he just laughed so i assumed it would be okay.
    So, what time did you get in to the office today?

What time did they call you?

if they try to terminate can i say this is breach of contract?
    They might say you are in breach of contract.

What does your contract say about time off?