• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Newbie - First Contract Questions and concerns

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie - First Contract Questions and concerns

Hello newbie here

Hope I can get your opinion on an offer I got recently, I never did contracting so I got little bit confused/scared and declined in the end, but I got interested in the whole contracting thing.
    I'm not form the UK but I guess the same basic principles applies regardless, so I would appreciate your input.

The client was a company in Slovakia, I got a call from a headhunter from UK and after few interviews I got offered a contract.
    The contract was between me, staffing company from UK and some consultancy/payroll company, I checked the consultancy/payroll company on google and it didn’t look good as some people were complaining that they screwed up their taxes and the payments were late.
    The pay rate was 200 EUR per day and I got an illustrative calculation showing my monthly net income.
    So the numbers were – 20 days per month → 4000EUR per month, management fees per month 450EUR, social security in Slovakia per month 438EUR, taxes in Slovakia per month 511EUR – monthly net income 2600.
    Besides the bad review on the net for the payroll company my concerns/questions are:

How do I know I will actually get paid and what can I do if I don’t, can I terminate the contract without worrying they can sue me for damages ?