• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Ltd Company IT Contractor, Termination Prior to Start

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Ltd Company IT Contractor, Termination Prior to Start

Dear All,

I have a situation that require your advise on please.

I am an IT contractor works through my Ltd company. I signed a new contract with a recruitment agency to provide services for their client in UK. The notice period on this contract as per contract schedule is 2 weeks for either side. The duration of this contact is 5 months. Considering the long term revenue opportunity, I resigned from my then existing contract which was in fact due to end after 4 weeks.

I was informed the next day I signed the contract by the agency that this new contract has been terminated due to the end-client's circumstances i.e. terminated prior to my start. No further information was given by the agency despite the fact that services required under this contract was for an on-going program for which the end-client required number of additional resources for.

I spoke to the team at end-client (resources who interviewed me) on this situation and was advised by the delivery manager/hiring manager that there is a disagreement on start date between the end-client procurement/HR and the Agency. I spoke to the Agency about it and they said its not something they are aware of. However, they didn't sound interested to investigate the reasons of cancellations further.