• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

State of the Market

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by sspt27 View Post
    [/LIST]Like another poster here, I'm wondering whether I'm a resting contractor, or an (involuntarily) retired contractor.
    This can be the case for many. We likely still need to wait until debt bubble will pop and bear the pain of it before there will be space for further grow. But when it happens, there will be no going back to sweet contract market open to anyone who can do work.

Only ones who possess niche skills, run actual businesses and developed their own network will be working on outside basis. Rest of the today's contractors will be some type of employee, with or without employee rights.

Comment

Originally posted by Sub View Post

This can be the case for many. We likely still need to wait until debt bubble will pop and bear the pain of it before there will be space for further grow. But when it happens, there will be no going back to sweet contract market open to anyone who can do work.

Only ones who possess niche skills, run actual businesses and developed their own network will be working on outside basis. Rest of the today's contractors will be some type of employee, with or without employee rights.