• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Specing up work!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Specing up work!

I'm a newbie contractor and been doing at it for only four months. I'm directly contracting with the client and no agency is involved. My job currently involves clearing a backlog of bugs, nothing too exciting there! The company I'm working for is in the same sector that I have worked in for over a decade - so have a lot of experience with their client base as well as the type of application that's being developed.

After getting my head around their application, I proposed some enhancements and demoed my ideas to the director/architect and other senior developers on the team. The director loved the ideas and has shown a keen interest in implementing the work. We’ve had a chat and I estimated the work to take around eight months. My initial thoughts were when I simply renewal my contract at the beginning of April, we would renegotiate and simply carry on from there!
    However, and completely understandably, the director wants me write up a simple spec with a timeline and estimated costs for the work. So simple put I wouldn’t be on a day rate anymore but bill for a whole project.