• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

First Time Contracting Advice

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

First Time Contracting Advice

Hi,

I am new to the forum and would appreciate some guidance and advice from your fine people.

So I am new to contracting and have started my first 3 month contract which expires at the end of February. The role is not very challenging and I do not have much to do, however the expectation is they will probably offer a renewal closer to the end date.

However, I have received a separate 12 month offer as a lead on a really important project for a much larger client. If I were to get this offer and decided to take it, how best should I exit my current client?

For example, knowing they are slow at getting renewals together do I wait until the renewal is offered and then decline it and then leave on my end date? What would I do in the scenario my contract expires before they've physically generated the renewed contract?

Or if I do not have a renewal in place 4 weeks before the end date (notice period) do I hand in my notice as pre-warning that without a renewal I may be leaving at the end of March?

Any help would be much appreciated.