• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Re: agency wanting money back on behalf of client

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Re: agency wanting money back on behalf of client

I am a supply teacher who had a 4-month paternity job lined up from mid-Oct until early-Feb back (Place A) in July. This meant that from 1st Sep to mid-Oct I had to fill in the gap with something else. Indeed, I got a job with a different agency with the promise of at least 3 weeks work (Place B) in September/October. The Place B job was also worth £35 more per day than what I was going to get in Place A (but was only Monday to Thursday). However, with regards to the Place B job I was covering for someone who needed a knee op and therefore it was totally unpredictable as to when that person was going to come back. On Fri 2nd Oct I did the handover day in at the Place A. The following week another development arose, meaning that the Place B job needed to get someone for the rest of the year and I managed to get that by Wed evening. With a heavy heart I contacted agency representing Place A to explain that I was going to pull out (3 days notice) and they were quite reasonable on the phone. Since then however, they have left a voicemail on the phone, saying that Place A wants its handover money back even though I still worked that day and incurred 100-mile roundtrip costs etc and wasn't available for other assignments. What is the (legal) situation on this?