• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Offer withdrawn and looking for feedback

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Offer withdrawn and looking for feedback

I work as a contractor and so does my husband. He's just gone through a month long interview and onboarding process with a Tier 1 bank only to have the offer withdrawn at the last minute.

In a nutshell, the client required that he provide a document for every month over the past five years that he wasn't working to prove that he was looking for work and not secretly employed.

He provided emails between him and recruiting agencies for all the months except for three. These were periods where we weren't travelling, working or looking for work. We're expats from Australia, so one month was a break inbetween finishing a contract and returning to Australia for three months to get married, and the other two months were this summer where we were made a few trips around UK and hosted relatives from back home.

All documents we could think of we provided (train tickets, emails of him organising the wedding!) we were told 'were not acceptable', and despite him repeatedly asking the recruiter what type of documents would be acceptable he got nothing. They were just completely useless.