• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

How soon do you start looking for new role?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How soon do you start looking for new role?

My current contract runs until end September - and it has been 3 years+ since I have had to look for a new one. I started applying this week and got some calls but for everyone, it seems too soon. I work in Banking/Financial domain and most places 4 weeks seem to be minimum on-boarding period due to usual checks - that is after you are offered the contract - so working backwards 2/2.5 months seem reasonable.

I wouldn't mind just hanging on there but is there a risk in starting too early i.e. Your CV coming up in too many searches and seen as if I am looking for ages? I do not want to compromise on rate so want to avoid any panic after starting late (from experience).

I don't look, I get calls....

Comment

Assuming you don't want time off, beginning of September.

Comment

Originally posted by Nirajn123 View Post
        My current contract runs until end September - and it has been 3 years+ since I have had to look for a new one. I started applying this week and got some calls but for everyone, it seems too soon. I work in Banking/Financial domain and most places 4 weeks seem to be minimum on-boarding period due to usual checks - that is after you are offered the contract - so working backwards 2/2.5 months seem reasonable.