• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Getting from temp-permie to independent consultant

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Getting from temp-permie to independent consultant

I've been contracting now for four years, having worked as an employee for about ten previously. I've been on the same contract now for two of those years - whenever time to renew comes around I have a look about, but happily where I am has continued to give the best rate.

I don't want to walk away from a good thing, but I want to look towards where I'm going long term. I think I should be moving towards supporting more than one client, or being able to bring junior staff in to support my engagements. Is that a typical progression - have many of you here done it succesfully and if so how did you start?

It's certainly a worthwhile thing to aim for, but I'm not sure it's a common progression.

I don't know any contractors I've ever worked with who have done it.

There is a software company I am aware of near me which started as 2 contractors at the NHS who bid on an NHS contract, won it, and started things from there.

Comment

Career graph for me similar to OP.

My current 2-yr contract has recently switched to work from home with flexible hours, so I am using this time to look around for other contracts and hopefully build my client base. I am looking at (very) short term contracts - the kind that say "1 week duration but with a possibility of repeat work in the future". In fact I have an interview on one of those this week.

Comment