• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Income and sickness protection insurance

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Income and sickness protection insurance

Hi,

I have been contracting now for almost 3 years and have never taken out income or sickness protection insurance.

How many of you have this insurance and do you recommend it?
    I am fortunate that I do build up a nice warchest every year so always have that to fall back on, mind you I have never been out of work for over a month.

What do you think?

Do what's right for your family and yourself. There's no rule on this.

Comment

Some people don't have it and others like me have it.

If you are going to take out a income protection policy (PHI) you need to ensure that it will pay out to contractors whose income comes from a mixture of wages and dividends. The premiums tend to be lower if you are male and younger.
      "You’re just a bad memory who doesn’t know when to go away" JR

Comment

Income protection

Hi, perhaps you would like to try this test. Sit down with your latest bank statement and a Highlighter. Mark off all of the essentials in your life; Mortgage, Council tax, Gas, Electric, Water, credit card & loan payments, food, transport costs, insurances. Then check your savings and work out how long the savings will last. Will they last until your retirement? If no, What plan do you have to maintain your lifestyle? No plan in place? Take Income Protection.