• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

By-pass the Agency for Overtime?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

By-pass the Agency for Overtime?

Hi all,

I am new to contracting, I set up as a Limited company a couple of months ago, and I am doing work for a company via an agency. FYI, I am in the construction industry, working as a structural engineer.

So, obviously...the company I work for, pay the agency my hourly rate + the agency fees.

The situation is:
    The company I work for do not want to offer me any overtime during xmas due to me being more expensive than regular staff! But they said it would be ideal if they didn't have to pay the agency any fees.

My Question is:
    Is there anything wrong with my submitting an invoice direct from my Ltd company to the company I work for? Basically by-passing the agency.

Is this legal?

Any insight would be appreciated, thanks.

Tom

You are in a contract with your agency and there will be a handcuff in there not allowing you to work direct. You will be in breach of contract and will most likely be dropped and sued by them.

You are a contractor, you have a contract. At least try and understand the situation and your own contract.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

What do you mean by "Is this legal?"

Is it criminal to do this? No

Would the agency be able to sue both you and the client under civil law if you do this? Yes

Would you be liable to pay the agency compensation if when they take you to court and win? Yes