• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Claiming a laptop as an expense

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Claiming a laptop as an expense

Hi guys,

Quite new to contracting so could do with some help.

I will need a laptop for as throughout my contract I will be learning new technologies and getting involved in various projects. The laptop will be used for work (when travelling as I have been provided with a desktop PC when at the local site), word processing (finances etc.) and also for future contracts (I am an IT consultant and will be asked to provide my own equipment). Obviously there will be some partial personal use.

My accountant has told me that I can put this through fully as a business expense and pay for it out of my companies tax, then when the tax due date comes along, provide a receipt and it will be deducted from tax owed. Is this correct? I thought that this sounded a tad "dodgy" so I have come here to ask your advice!

Thanks for your help.

arioon123

Absolutely normal
    "I can put any old tat in my sig, put quotes around it and attribute to someone of whom I've heard, to make it sound true."
    - Voltaire/Benjamin Franklin/Anne Frank...

Comment

Originally posted by arioon123 View Post
      Hi guys,

Quite new to contracting so could do with some help.