• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Umbrella mileage expenses question.

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Umbrella mileage expenses question.

Hello,

First post on the forum.

I'm a UK contractor with an umbrella, and I have an accounting question.

I've reached my 10k mileage limit with my existing umbrella, so I'm paid the lower rate per mile now (0.25).

My mileage is offset against my salary.

My question is; if I change my umbrella company, will I be able to claim the higher rate again, or does the lower rate limit follow you from one company to the next in any tax year?

My current contract is up at the end of this week, so it makes sense to act now if it's legal.

If it's not legal and the tax man sends me a bill when I submit my P11D next April, then there's no point.

Thanks.

Originally posted by killingtime View Post
    Hello,

First post on the forum.

I'm a UK contractor with an umbrella, and I have an accounting question.

I've reached my 10k mileage limit with my existing umbrella, so I'm paid the lower rate per mile now (0.25).

My mileage is offset against my salary.

My question is; if I change my umbrella company, will I be able to claim the higher rate again, or does the lower rate limit follow you from one company to the next in any tax year?

My current contract is up at the end of this week, so it makes sense to act now if it's legal.

If it's not legal and the tax man sends me a bill when I submit my P11D next April, then there's no point.

Thanks.