• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Client will only pay if their clients have paid - contract

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Client will only pay if their clients have paid - contract

Firstly, I'm new to contracting.

I'm about to sign a new contract with a new client and there is a section in the contract that states that I won't be paid if they (my client) have not been paid by their clients.

I will be contracting for a consultancy and doing work for their clients.

Is this standard? I'm worried that one of their big clients will pay late and that will affect me. I can't really go without pay for two months due to the mortgage etc.

Thanks

Coming from an end user client, I think this is highly irregular and raises a question over their own cashflows – are they a large co or small? Can your billings really make a difference to their cashflow?

We see this with pimps – who make a slightly better argument for this (i.e. multiple contractors but clients paying them irregularly, need to avoid factoring blah blah). But clients? I’d ask more questions here and perhaps run a credit report on them.
    "My God, it's huge!!"

Comment

Originally posted by sc0rmful View Post
      Is this standard?
      Absolutely not.

I can't really go without pay for two months due to the mortgage etc.
      So what are you planning to do when this contract ends and you can't find another one quickly? Are you sure you've thought the move to being self-employed through carefully enough??
      Best Forum Advisor 2014