• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Dividends/directors loan and year end?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dividends/directors loan and year end?

This is my first year contracting, I created my business on 4th April 2012 and I started actually working the first week of May 2012. I have paid myself a monthly salary of £624 per month with the intention of paying the remaining as a dividend.

I was introduced to the director's loan facility by another contractor and I used that to borrow £30933.16 (in total - made up of about 5 - 6 smaller loans over the course of the year). I wasn't aware of the interest over £5000 (I should have done more research on this!).

1) By what date does this need to be cleared? 31st March 2013 or 5th April 2013? I'm a little confused by HMRC website, it says year end but in other bits corporation tax year end (which is 31st March) I repaid £4500 over the directors loan on the 31st March (but it did not go through until the 2nd April) due to bank holidays/sunday etc. Is that an issue?

2) Can I pay myself a dividend on 5th April 2013 or did it have to happen on the 31st March? In which case does this affect any interest/NIC/tax on the directors loan?

On a couple of other separate notes: