• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Question about contractor and phones

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Question about contractor and phones

Hi,

I am in my first year of contracting through my own limited company and just have a slightly odd question about phones.

I currently use my personal mobile for work purposes, due to being in a mobile contract when I started contracting. I do not claim anything back via my ltd co as it is in my name.

What I would like to know is am I able to purchase a new handset through my limited company like any other asset, and use my current (personal) contract sim in it as I use it for work purposes? Am I able to just claim the tax relief on a new handset if I am not claiming back monthly contract costs as it is a personal contract?

Essentially does a handset purchase just get classed as an asset or is there some requirement that I have a contract in my company name for use with it?

thankyou.

Yes you can.

If you want further confirmation, ask your accountant. You do have an accountant don't you?
    The proud owner of 125 Xeno Geek Points

Comment

Thanks.

I do yes, if there was any further ambiguity then I would ask them. Posted here first as they usually take a few days to get back to me with answers to anything and also having a post on the forum might help others searching for similar things in future

thanks for the clarification.

Comment

Originally posted by Nut View Post
        Thanks.