• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

A cautionary tale

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A cautionary tale

Before I begin please let me preface my post by fully acknowledging that I acted like a pratt, and that I am responsible for the mess I got myself into. I very much doubt that I am alone though. ( or thats gonna stop the pot shots)

I was a contractor for five years. During this period I was very successful, my biggest break between contracts was a week, and my rates rose year on year by a substantial amount. I had an accountant, and mostly ensured that the VAT returns went in on time, as I had heard stories of the unlimited powers and sadistic tendencies of the VAT man. I was however complacent, to borderline blase about the Inland Revenue, and what would happen if he became too interested in the books of the company. It seemed to me that I just had to ensure that once a year the accountant did the books and I had to find the money for the corporation tax. The smart thing to do would have been to put aside a percentage of the companies earnings over the year. Instead I took the fun route, several overseas holidays per year (five star hotels only of course), lots of expensive restaurants, running up huge tabs whilst clubbing with models and celebrities in many of the best private members clubs London has to offer and the obligatory purchase of the convertible BMW. I financed some of this and the tax by taking out loans, which didn't worry me as the repayments equated to a day and a half's pay per month.