• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Cashing a Cheque from my limited company to myself, is it allowed?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Cashing a Cheque from my limited company to myself, is it allowed?

Hi, I'm new to this whole thing so just wanted some advice to make sure i don't do anything illegal.
    I'm the director and owner as well as an employee of my limited company. I've got invoices due to be paid into my business account next week but am in need of urgent cash now. Am i allowed to write a cheque from my business to myself, as wages, and go and cash this at a cheque cashing company?

I'm not trying to do anything illegal here, just a short term cashflow problem. My credit rating has not been good since university so the bank will not give me an overdraft or anything.
    Your responses will be greatly appreciated.

Tin hat on, but wouldn't it be easier to stick whatever it is on a credit card and pay it off as soon as you get the invoices paid, and pay yourself salary/divvies?

I'll spare you the usual "why don't you have a warchest as a new contractor" patter.

Edit: just re-read and saw the "overdraft or anything" comment, doh!

Comment

Jesus, cashing company cheques for wages not worked yet.. F that for a game of soldiers legal or not.

You are allowed to take a directors loan of up to 5k a year tax free that has some caveats around paying it back in certain timeframes etc. Use that instead.