• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Umbrella Companies

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by Parisno
    Whats your problem? I asked a simple question in a civil tone, you dont want to help then shut up. For your information I don't think "contractors earn a wedge so I'll just do it for three months and fill my boots" nor do I want "someone to wipe your arse for me"

I am new to this and assumed (wrongly in your case) I could get a bit of friendly advice from people who had been there.
    Quoting the wrong bit but couldn't be arsed to press the first page button.

FWIW even for 3 months consider incorporationg. Total costs would be around 1250 for a years trading. You'll get 250 back from IR if you file PAYE returns on line, also if you register for the flat rate vat scheme you'll get about 2% of turnover back. Lets say 25k @ 2%. = 500 quid.

So overall your costs of being LTD are likely to be lower than an umbrellas commission. It doesn't really take very long. I doubt it takes any more real effort than a brolly.

Comment

Originally posted by Denny
      It's obvious you're a contractor
      Ahh, you saw right through me, Denny.

Comment

Time to get back on track here, I will re-phrase my question (to keep people happy).