• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Who to sue Ltd company or sole trader

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Who to sue Ltd company or sole trader

Hi everyone this is my first time so please be gentle!
    I want to sue a sole trader because I was sold a fully accredited diploma course that actually wasn't, I have issued a court claim on her and she wishes to defend and in her defense she is claiming that I am suing the wrong person as she is LTD. I have contacted companies house and they inform me she became limited after I did the course infact she registered the company as LTD when I told her I was going to go to Trading standards. I wont go into details, but it turns out she was in prison for fraud for 26 sentenced in Jan 09 so is an old hand and I gather knows the law quite well. She is also claiming her name is different to the name have all dealings with, but the police officer in charge of my case says they know her as the name I am suing and 2 other alias.
    So I just need help in who to sue as she was not ltd at time of contract, but she also has several other business listed on company house to her residential address as of course LTD so just wondered if she now use one of those company names and say that the company comes under that business????
    Please help this course cost almost £1000 and I cant afford to loose the money.