• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Accountant recommendation threads inc local requests

Collapse
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by sergeantpluck View Post
    Can anyone recommend an accountant for a first-time contractor? I'm very new to all this (I have a couple of outside-IR35 contracts) - no idea what I'm doing with dividends, self-assessments, and all that. I'm with BI who set me up on FreeAgent which I've got running and in order but otherwise they are not helpful at all - maybe you get what you pay for - willing to pay a bit more for some help or advice to be honest. EDIT: do I lose all my FreeAgent work if I move to another accountant? Thank you.
    I'm not with BI but in their defence that's my experience with most contractor accountants. They do your accounts, not run your business. There are quite a few posts about what you expect from them. Some send out mail shots reminding you about this and that but it's up to you really. They are all helpful if you ask a question but the rest comes down to you I am afraid. If you don't understand something you need to go research it or ask the question. You do not pay for proactive help or lessons.