• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

How much to spend on tech per year?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How much to spend on tech per year?

Just curious, how much do people spend on tech (through their Ltd) each year?

Assuming most of you are in IT, do you spend say X amount each year on tech. I am thinking laptops, desktops, software, etc.

So is a new laptop or PC each year OTT? I could make a good business case, as I need to up to date on things as a infrastructure architect, I need to be on top of whats what.
    Politicians are wonderfull people, as long as they stay away from things they don't understand, like working for a living!

Probably spend about £500 a year I should think. I'm not in infrastructure so it's basically a new laptop & desktop every 3 years or so and the occaisional monitor/printer/HDD as stuff fails.

Comment

Don't spend a fixed amount. I buy things as required.
      "You’re just a bad memory who doesn’t know when to go away" JR

Comment

In November 2007, 6 months after starting contracting, I bought 2 laptops, 1 small and mobile and 1 large and a replacement desktop really.

Since then I have bought nothing tech, until recently when I replaced my printer which I had had for 8 years.

Am looking at a NAS, poss new desktop, dual monitor etc.., as the one I have is mine rather than Ltd.

I have bought books about tech, recently to learn c#, tried iphone dev but couldn't get into it.