• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Help Required / Contractor Dispute

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help Required / Contractor Dispute

I am an IT contractor/freelancer working in the IT contracting market here in London since June 2004. I joined Brookson Ltd as my umbrella company in Jan 2005, which forms a limited company for me, pays part of my money as a permanent salary and the other to the limited company of which I am a shareholder. So I am an employee of Brookson as well as shareholder in the limited company they form for me. I have a membership no in this company too.

When we find a new contract anywhere, we ask the contract agency to pass the agreement to Brookson. Brookson negotiates for IR35 compliance, but other than that, it is we who agree on a daily rate. Brookson charges a small fee on each weekly timesheet it processes and as contractors we pass them our signed timesheets, and they invoice the client/agency for them.

I started contracting with Etheios (a city consultancy) on July 11, 2005 and an agreement was reached b/w Brookson and Etheios which stated that I would provide my services. The agreement stated a 4 weeks notice period. The contract allowed me to join any other contract while I am working or providing services here.