• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Venture Capital Trusts

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Venture Capital Trusts

Hi,

I'm a contractor working through my own limited company and I'm currently going down the minimum wage/dividends up to the higher rate tax threshold route. I'd like to take some more money out of the company via an additional dividend but I'm not keen on paying the 25% extra in tax (or even worse!). I was looking to invest in a VCT as a way of avoiding it. According to the link (HM Revenue & Customs: Venture Capital Trusts) you can claim up to 30% of the investment against your income tax bill. It looks fairly clear cut but I just wanted to check that this can be against my dividends, and wasn't limited to the PAYE part of my income. I've emailed my accountant for their opinion and am waiting for a reply but wanted to know if anyone here had actually done this?

Thanks,

BrandNewCUKUser

Venture Capital Trusts

Hi BrandNewCUKUser,

if you subscribe for new ordinary shares in a VCT, you can claim income tax relief at 30% on up to £200,000 pa. This is subject to you have sufficient income tax payable to absorb the relief.

There are other tax reliefs, such as not income tax on the dividends received from the investment, no CGT on the disposal of the shares.

You must hold the shares for at least 5 years, or you will lose the releif and will be required to pay back the tax.

Thanks

Neil

Comment