• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

MBA costs through the company

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

MBA costs through the company

OK guys, should be an easy one. I have been contracting through my limited for six years, so have a fair whack of cash built up in the company. An oportunity as come up for the missus to transfer with her work to new york, and the loose plan is for me to go over and do an MBA whilst over there.

Ignoring for a minute whether either emigrating with my missus or doing an MBA are worthwhile endeavours, what I want to know is whether I can put the couse fees through the company as a business expense. These thing are not cheap - think 40k GBP. Also I have to go over to NYU and inteview in a couple of weeks. What about flight/accomodation costs for this, can this be expensed?

Thanks for much for the usual esteemed wisdom.

As with any expense, only if it is incurred wholly and necessarily as part of your job, and I think you will struggle to convince a tax inspector that was the case.

Comment

I'd speak to your accountant if I were you. I took a Masters and paid it through my business. Admittedly it was a Masters in Information Security which is specific to my business...

Older and ...well, just older!!

Comment