• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Bank Accounts

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bank Accounts

I am new to contracting and close to securing my 1st contract.

I am looking to set up a ltd company, but dont have good credit ratings personally from several years ago, which make it very difficult for me to get a personal bank account,

Does anybody know if same rules apply to buisness bank accounts on credit checks or does it go on the ltd company. I dont want overdrafts or credit cards or anything like that.

Also do you have to use buisness accounts, or can standard bank account be used, as I have several where I already have set up but dont use very often.

Any recommendations on banks to use and advice appreciated.

Really, if you don't have a grasp of these basics, why are you going freelance? It's not like there isn't enough information washing around already...

Anyway: your company is a whole new legal entity: it starts from scratch, so your personal history is neither here nor there (unless you're an undischarged bankrupt, of course). Company money and your money are two different things. Understand that now and always keep the separation very clear in your head.

And if a bank thought you were using a private account for company business, it would freeze it very quickly and launch a money-laundering check.
    Blog? What blog...?

Comment

so your personal history is neither here nor there