• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

foreign contracting in UK - what visa covers it?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

foreign contracting in UK - what visa covers it?

Hello,

I'm an IT freelancer (programmer) from Serbia - I need visa to come to UK. And there is a chance that I might be accepted for a contracting job in the UK.

There are a couple of things I don't quite understand.

What is the difference between employment and contracting and difference it makes when it comes to taxes and visa?

Right now I'm contracting for another UK based company, but working from Serbia. And I as a business (sole trader) have contracting agreement with the company. Each month I send an invoice stating "contracting services for _month_ _year_".

I understand that with contracting you don't get pension, health ...etc paid by the employing company.

What's not clear to me:
    * In UK, does contracting always happen between two business entities, or can one be a person - and what is the "standard" if it can be both?
    * Are there any differences when it say comes to paying taxes and such?

In Serbia it can be both - but fees are larger for person-2-business than business-2-business. Because for person-2-business, you need to pay ~40% on top of the contracted sum for state taxes (pension, health ...etc.), and for business-2-business nothing extra but whatever the taxes/fees the two business are already paying - which is usually much less for long term contracting.