• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Limited Company and Tax

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Limited Company and Tax

Ok firstly I have to say that I have been contracting for a few years now, but always with Umbrella companies or PAYE so I don't know too much about Limited Companies and IR35 etc. So if I ask stupid questions I apologise!

My situation is this - I am an Australian contractor working in London. I have a British passport. I have been here since may and will be returning to Oz in june this year. My intention is to make as much money as possible over here, pay as little tax as possible and I porbably wont be working back in the UK again.

I setup a limited company in June last year at the beginning of my contract and I will close this down when I leave. However I do not have an accountant and am not sure what taxes I should be paying, will I get hit by IR35, will I better off PAYE? Also what would happen if I paid no tax whatsoever then declared myself bankrupt? I understand that I would not be able to have loans, bank accounts etc etc if I was declared bankrupt, but as said I wont be working here again so that wont be an issue. Any advice would be great.

What’s the point of the “declare myself bankrupt” plan? Bankrupt means you haven’t enough money to pay your debts. But you will have the money because you will have nicked it from the taxman. It’s like saying “can I get away with robbing a bank if I declare myself bankrupt?” Of course not.