• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Maximum Expenses Allowed?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Maximum Expenses Allowed?

Hi All, I am very confused and was hoping someone would be able to clarify a few things for me. I'm due to start a new contract in a few weeks, I have been a contractor before and used Mantor Umbrella which have been great but have been looking into a few umbrella companies as I am looking to claim childcare vouchers. I have provided each company with the same details, hrs, wages and expenses and each company have told me different things. Apparently I cannot claim expenses even if I have incurred them? 1 company told me the max I can claim is £66 pw, another £90 and another £132??

I will be working 32 hrs a week across 4 days at £11 ph, I will be travelling £88 miles pw, paying £7 per day car parking and leaving at 7:15am and getting home around 6:30pm. I was under the impression I could therefore claim £10 per day subsitance (I will keep meal reciepts)

My calculations are £102.20 per week expenses. All of which are incurred. Does anyone know why would I then be told I cannot claim this amount by some companies but others saying I can? Its so confusing!

Also I am entiltiled to £55 per week childcare vouchers which I was under the impression could b purchased as a salary sacrifice so my £55 per week would be deducted from my gross pay however each company has told be that I would not be better off claiming this as I cannot claim these and the expenses.