• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Vat turnover query

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Vat turnover query

Hi All,

I've got a question regarding paying vat and the vat turnover.

I started trading as a business in June 08. I registered for Vat immediately as I thought the turnover would exceed £67k. By November, it wasnt going to be the case, so i deregistered at the end of November 08.

I intend to cease trading in Dec 09.

When reviewing the annual turnover, it appears between Dec 08 and Oct 09 I will be over the £67k threshold. Since this is the case, should I register for vat? Or should I not given i will cease trading in Dec 09.

The company i am currently servicing cannot claim vat back, and thus my rate would be renegotiated and I will receive a pay cut.

Thanks for any advice you can offer.

I don't know the answer but I would strongly recommend that you phone the VAT people and ask them.

They are approachable and helpful, but you don't want to get on the wrong side of them.

Comment

If you gross over £67k a year, you have to register for VAT, it is not an option. End of...

Talk to the VAT office - they are actually very helpful.
      Blog? What blog...?

Comment

Originally posted by Shanshan View Post
        Hi All,

I started trading as a business in June 08. I registered for Vat immediately as I thought the turnover would exceed £67k. By November, it wasnt going to be the case, so i deregistered at the end of November 08.