• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Tax Help Please

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tax Help Please

Hi All

Ive just joined this site, had a quick look around and have not found any relevant info but maybe I've just been looking in the wrong area if so sorry for the repeat post..

Here is my problem (I will try to keep it as short as possible):

Ive been contracting for a few years now and due to problematic Umbrella companies, I decided to go the Limited company route last year (07/2008). Unfortunate about 4 months into my contract I fell ill and have not worked since. So I have only worked for the first 4 months and now I have to sort out my tax.

As you can guess with the whole unexpected 3/4 of the year out of work money is a bit tight at the moment and I was wondering if it would be hard to do my tax returns myself as it is due soon. I really cant afford to shell out the £100s of pounds on an accountant and somehow pay the tax as well so any advice would be great.

I'm better and able to start back at work but with what I'm hearing about the current market I may not get a position as quickly as I'm accustomed to getting one and have to sort this out soon..

Thanks for reading and replying.

I assume you mean the accounts/corporation tax rather than tax return.