• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Temping and national insurance, being self-employed?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Temping and national insurance, being self-employed?

Hi,

I was a contractor but a temping agency offered me work which I'm happy to take.. especially in the light of recent IR35 developments

The contract says I'm self-employed but the agency would be paying Employer's NI, and deducting Class 1 Employee's NI and tax from my payslip.

Apparently it is normal that temps are self-employed.

But do I have to pay class 2 National Insurance as well?
    And can I claim tax relief on expenses (even though the agency won't reimburse them)?

Thanks

If you pay class I then no need to pay class II. Sounds like not self employed!

class II if you are self employed : then you pay class IV on top.

If you have no job but still want to make contributions then it is class III.

Comment

Originally posted by bingocaller88 View Post
      Hi,

I was a contractor but a temping agency offered me work which I'm happy to take.. especially in the light of recent IR35 developments

The contract says I'm self-employed but the agency would be paying Employer's NI, and deducting Class 1 Employee's NI and tax from my payslip.

Apparently it is normal that temps are self-employed.

But do I have to pay class 2 National Insurance as well?
      And can I claim tax relief on expenses (even though the agency won't reimburse them)?

Thanks