• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Suspended From Work

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Suspended From Work

Hi All,

I've just been asked to 'leave the building' and not to come back until an investigation has been completed.

I've been contracting at the company for over 2 years (3 monthly renewals) with an excellent record of delivery, but they have just found that a user id I was using a couple of months ago has been used to access unauthorised data.

I have no idea how my user id has been compromised - and cannot recall a time when I would have left my PC unlocked.

The company apparently have audit reports and other sources that they are investigating - which will take 3 days.

Any advice?

I really like working for the company (it's my first contract), but even if found innocent, I'm sure that 'mud sticks'.

I can't imagine what will happen if they can't find anything to prove me innocent - I guess they'll terminate my contract? Will this affect my chances of getting another contract?

I'm really worried, so any advice would be extremely useful.

Cheers.

Start looking for a new role quickly and hope you get it before the result is announced.

Maybe you've been set up or maybe you've been careless. Either way if you've been asked to leave the building they wont trust you again.

Contractor at the bank where I work mailed some innocent information to his home email address. Unfortunately, there were some dummy credit card accounts contained deep in the mail.