• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Opting out and lower tax?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Opting out and lower tax?

Hi,

I've been contracting for a few months now and have recently got a new 3 month contract. The thing is after reading the contract, it all states it is a contract for someone wanting to Opt Out from Employment regs.

Now in my limited experience, I've always Opted In as I thought Opting Out was basically a get out clause for the agencies to do whatever they want, to a certain extent. After speaking to the agency about this, they say that Opting out in my situation (Umbrella not Ltd) would help me pay lower amounts of tax on my earnings.

Now I've started the contract, having not yet signed it but is it right that once you've been 'introduced' to the client, eg, an interview, then the Opting out argument is worthless?

I've had a look around these forums and the consensus of opinion seems to be that Opting out has nothing to do with tax.

Am I wrong or is this agency talking a load of sh!t?

Thanks

For someone using an umbrella, he's talking tulipe.

And even if he wasn't, you can't opt out now anyway. You can only do so before being intorduced to the client. You can't change your opt in/out status at a renewell.

tim

Comment

Thanks for the reply,

That's what I thought but I just wanted to check my situation before I stand my ground.