• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Newbie question Ltd vrs Umbrella

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie question Ltd vrs Umbrella

Afternoon all,

New to the site but have been reading some of the excellent comments about umbrella companies.

I am fairly new to the contracting game and plumped for the umbrella company route as it seemed to be the easiest at the time. However Im in one of those "lie through your teeth to get as much moolah as possible" schemes and am getting rather worried that it will come back and bite me in the nether regions at some point

Im also thinking of working abroad for 6-12 months next year

So my question is....how does owning my own Ltd company get me anywhere near the return as the umbrella companies and what are the tax implications if Im out of the country for a while

ta muchly

Let's put it this way - the Limited Company and the Umbrella are subject to the same tax laws as each other and have the same employee taxation, dividend payment and expense regulations to adhere to. You also have to pay the Umbrella extra money to run your bit of the business.