• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

timesheets, invoices, vat, bank account, what else?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

timesheets, invoices, vat, bank account, what else?

Hi all,

I have been thinking on the next steps I have to perform, since I am new to contracting. (I have started work on Monday).

I have to complete timesheets by putting down the days I worked and ask the manager to sign them, then send themto the agency. I do this weekly, but will double check with my agent.

Invoices… what is the process on those? Do the accountants do them? Do I send the invoice to the agency? Is it done weekly?

I have also sent my forms for registering for flat rate VAT and for opening a bank account.

What happens to the payments that the agency should give me, since it will take about a month to get a bank account up and running?

Is there anything else I need to do?

Many thanks all (says in a sleepy voice).

Originally posted by kesm View Post
    Hi all,

I have been thinking on the next steps I have to perform, since I am new to contracting. (I have started work on Monday).

....[snip]....

Well wake up then.

Read the Guides...!!!

the definitive PCG one on www.pcg.org.uk,

There is so much you don't know it's frightening. As I keep telling the newbies, this is not a game, you can get into trouble very easily. Sadly, "Tell me everything" is not a question we can (or will) answer, so do the research then come back with something a bit more focused.
    Last edited by Contractor UK; 4 August 2021, 12:24.