• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Should I seek legal advice..?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Should I seek legal advice..?

Hi all

This is a bit of a long story, so please bear with me:

I'm currently 'enjoying' a rather tricky situation whereby a company that I have been freelancing for since January 2006 are refusing to pay a quite sizable amount of money that they owe me. Shortly before I became a freelancer for this company, I was an employee for a short period (in 2005), and before that briefly provided work as a freelancer for them (also in 2005) - and as my status changed again to freelancing in 2006, the boss (via e-mail) stipluated that in future he would require 'X' amount of work per month for 'X' amount of money. Over the past year they have made sporadic payments to me - 7 payments when they have been invoiced for 11 to the current date. These have all been signed by the boss in question.