• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Most flexible solution for contractors in current climate

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Most flexible solution for contractors in current climate

Hi guys, I know there isn’t any black and white answer to my question, anyway here is my situation.

i have been in permanent employment as a front end dev for the last 5 years. I am a UK tax resident but might potentially become a french tax resident in the future.

i am planning to go back to contracting in a month or two and I am wondering what would be the best solution, I need to move temporarily to France and would like to be able to carry on working on the UK market.

From one side I hear that many contractors are dropping their PSC to work under umbrella companies, I also hear some other voices saying that you can keep your PSC as you can still be working inside IR35 and be paid through your PSC.

i am just worried that if I go the umbrella route i might have to go through PAYE for contracts outside IR35 and lose significant amount of money. At the same time I am worried that this blanket banning of contractors operating though their PSC might be the rule for quite a while.

In any case, even if I become a tax resident in France I’d like my umbrella or PSC to be UK based as it seems to be easier if I want get as much work as possible through Uk agencies.

Your thoughts?