• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Advice on contractor non-payment

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice on contractor non-payment

Hi all,

I’m new here and regularly read the forum but I have a question I’m hoping someone can help me with!

I’m a contractor operating via my ltd company and I was placed in a role via an agency. In my first week at the role I was admitted to hospital so I had to take that day I was admitted to hospital off work and the day after. I got a ‘fit note’, even though it wasn’t required. I kept my employer and the agency informed and my agency told me not to worry. It wasn’t ideal in my first week but my health comes first. The company I was working for was a small company and they expressed that it was unfortunate and they understood but they needed someone to be present those two days and so they didn’t require any more time from me.

This was expressed in an email as I was on my way to work. They told me that the agency had been informed but the recruiter who had placed me in the role didn’t inform me.

I tried calling the recruiter, whom I have a good and long relationship with as they’d placed me in other roles, but no answer. I got a reply to an email simply saying that they were waiting on a timesheet approval for my days worked that week. This was before Christmas and since then my timesheet had been rejected my the employer and all my calls and emails have been ignored, except from the recruiter telling me he’s “working on it”.