• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Reducing the day rates

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Reducing the day rates

Hi,

I have been contracting with a client through an agency for the last 3 years. Though I actually work for the clients client with whom I have very good relations.

Around in June I agreed to a 5% cut in day rates. I asked for a new contract for that to be in effect but they never got back to me even after repeatedly asking for the new contract. I then billed invoice like normal based on the old rates from the existing contract and got paid. Now the agency has told they cant pay me for last month unless I raise a credit note for the difference. Apparently the client also paid them and are now asking them to raise credit notes for the difference from June.

Am I correct in saying that as they haven't issued a new contract the new rates are not in effect and they cant back track? I have already finished my accounts and even payed VAT based on the old rates. They have now stopped any further payments till I raise a credit note. Please advice.

Thanks in advance.

Originally posted by ash007 View Post
    Hi,

I have been contracting with a client through an agency for the last 3 years. Though I actually work for the clients client with whom I have very good relations.
    Do you understand IR35? Not a lot to go on but I'd say if you don't you could have some issues with that setup.
    Around in June I agreed to a 5% cut in day rates.