• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Restrictive Covenant - Agency & Public Sector Client - Procurement Contract Expired

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Restrictive Covenant - Agency & Public Sector Client - Procurement Contract Expired

Hi there,

I'm in the odd position where I've been contracting for about 18 months for a public sector client through an Agency, but the Agency's procurement contract with the public sector client will expire when my current contract ends, and won't be renewed.

However, the client has expressed interest in wanting to keep me on, but I could only do this directly with them in this case. Obviously there is a restrictive covenant in my Agency contract preventing me from going direct for 6 months after I finish the contract - but as I understand it, these types of clauses are supposed to be 'reasonable'. So if I am unable to use the agency for this client anymore due to their procurement contract finishing, is the clause enforceable?

I don't have the exact wording to hand right now, but I can provide it when I'm at home.

Just curious is anyway has been in a similar situation before, or has any insights?

6 months is not necessarily unreasonable.

In your case you need your exact contract wording. Why? To see if there are reasons why it is unenforceable.