• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Closing Ltd Co and IOM Tax

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Closing Ltd Co and IOM Tax

Hi,

I have an off-beat situation.

Been contracting for a few years - just started on a fixed term role paid to personal bank account outside of my Ltd Co in the Isle Of Man for 12 months - which may be extended. I am a registered IOM Tax Resident.

Now, I am looking about what to do with my current Ltd Co. My accountants suggest that as an IOM tax resident if I was to declare dividend it is to IOM rates, which is 0%. Need to have a good chat with my accountants tax advisor, but, I am also confused about the Corporation tax which is also a big fat 0% in the IOM.

Has anyone else had a similar situation in any country?

First of all, get an IOM advisor. The system is totally different to the UK and you need someone with knowledge and experience of the IOM rules.

Company tax in the IOM is as you say 0%. As a resident however, if your company makes a dividend payment to you, it is subject to tax on you personally at whatever rate of tax you pay. The company itself has nothing to pay.

A guide to the IOM company tax system is here https://www.gov.im/media/365163/gn38...09-updated.pdf

Comment

As others have said you need to get professional advice.

I'm most likely wrong but I would expect that even if you have a UK based Ltd the corporation tax owed would still be at the UK rate and not the Manx rate as presumably money was earned in the UK anyway.