• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Director with no salary - self assessment options

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Director with no salary - self assessment options

Hi there

I am new to contracting so please forgive me.

I left employment in October and was paying tax at the higher 40% threshold. I then started my own consultancy business and since then have been paying myself dividends only, with no salary, as I had already used my personal allowance for the year.

I am now filling in my self-assessment form as I believe I am owed about £2,500 tax from my previous employment as I was paying tax as if I would earn well over the 40% limit and in reality my total earnings (inc dividends) are now under £40,000.

As I have no payroll, I do not have a PAYE ref , have taken £0 salary and have paid £0 on that salary.

Question 1 - Do I list my consultancy firm as an employer for this year, or just fill the employment form in for my initial employment.

Question 2 - I have currently put my consultancy limited company in as a second employer, and it allows me to put £0 in for salary but is saying I need to put at least £1 in the "Tips and other payments not on your P60" field. How can I put this as I have received nothing but dividends and expenses.

Question 3 - If I do need to put this consultancy limited company in as an employer, do I list sum up all of my expenses paid to myself this tax year and put them in the final field of the following page "Expenses payments and balancing charges"?