• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Stung on vat??!!

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Stung on vat??!!

Hello,

I do hope someone can help me!!

I have just recently been informed from my accountant that I must now become VAT REG as I have passed the threshold. I am a sole trader in the flooring industry, I passed the current threshold by £28K from August 2014 but was unaware of this? So as it stands I currently owe and est £10K in VAT!! (oops)

I am in need of some help/advice/ideas how to deal with this. I was thinking that maybe I could ask my current contractors if they would be happy to make back dated payments just for the VAT on their invoices as most of them are VAT REG. Would that be a reasonable request?

Am open to Ideas,

Originally posted by Chrispriced View Post
    Hello,

I have just recently been informed from my accountant that I must now become VAT REG as I have passed the threshold. I am a sole trader in the flooring industry, I passed the current threshold by £28K from August 2014 but was unaware of this? So as it stands I currently owe and est £10K in VAT!! (oops)

I am in need of some help/advice/ideas how to deal with this. I was thinking that maybe I could ask my current contractors if they would be happy to make back dated payments just for the VAT on their invoices as most of them are VAT REG. Would that be a reasonable request?

Am open to Ideas,