• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Assigning Officers in Ltd Co.

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Assigning Officers in Ltd Co.

I'm a newbie here, so pleasure excuse my ignorance...

I am in the process of setting up my Ltd. Co and need a bit of help. I need to appoint a secondary officer (Director/Co. Secretary) and would like to use my partner as this. However, he is currently employed PAYE and I am not sure how this would effect him tax wise etc.

Can I have him as a second Director, with zero shares (hence not on payroll) or would he have to be the Secretary????

Any advice would be greatly received

Just set him up as company secretary and give him some shares. If you don't pay him any money it has no effect on his tax status, however if you give him some shares at the start you can potentially give him a dividend in the future if it becomes a tax efficient way to extract money from your company.

Note that I say potentially, the government is still fighting the Arctic S660 case as far as i'm aware where they are trying to plug this loophole, but they should loose.

Comment

I thought that if I give him some shares I would have to pay him?!?

He already earns over the 40% tax threashold so not sure how extracting money out via him would benefit either of us, but wanted to cover all bases just in case he goes on contract himself in the future - hence preferring the Director option if its workable... Would leave me to worry about the Co. Secretary bit.

Comment

Originally posted by Ardesco