• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Accountant just quit! What do I do?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Accountant just quit! What do I do?

Just wondering if anyone knows what to do in this situation.

I was an IT contractor for 10 months until last September when I started a permanent job, I've been trying to get my accountant to shut down my limited company for the last couple of months. This was agreed last month but nothing was done, I rang up last week to chase (very politely) and today received an email saying the accountant doesn't want to act for me anymore with immediate effect. I've been offered a £300 refund but I've paid him £66 a month for a year so feel this isn't enough plus I'm not sure what to do now, obviously it looks like I'll have to get a new accountant to sort things out the problem is I want to get some money out of the business bank account before the end of the tax year and I have no idea how much I should be leaving in there to cover tax etc plus I have no idea what returns etc are due... Can he just do this? I feel like I've been ditched at the worst possible time..
    Last edited by kim222; 17 March 2015, 12:39.