• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Agent suddenly changed the rate

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Agent suddenly changed the rate

Hi Guys,

I am new to contracting. I have done contracts directly (without agents involved) in the past but after 6 years I am going back to contracting. Last week I spoke to an agent who asked me to go for an interview yesterday. At the time of initial discussion, the rate I was been told was £300p/day. My interview went well yesterday and today the agent came back to me saying that I was offered the role however, the company now decided to reduce the rate to £250p/day as they have now decided to take 3 contractors instead of 2. Does it sound genuine? I refused and the agent said he will come back to me tomorrow.

Thanks

Fairly common - if you do a quick search, you'll find similar experiences. The agent wants to pocket the extra £50 a day. Of course, the client hasn't decided to pay only £250 - because that's the rate the agency is wanting to pay, not the rate the client pays.

If you can't come to an agreement, write a letter to the client thanking them for the time, but explaining that while you thought the work was interesting and wanted to do it, you found that the rate of £250 offered by the agency was too low to make it economically worthwhile.